One of the most common questions we get at, is what language should I order for which country?

This becomes especially tricky for the languages of Traditional Chinese, and Simplified Chinese. Let’s break it down:

Countries using Traditional Chinese

  • Hong Kong
  • Taiwan (Republic of China)
  • Macau

Countries using Simplified Chinese

  • China
  • Singapore

What about Mandarin and Cantonese?

These are the spoken dialects. When ordering an allergy translation card, you only need to choose between the written languages of Traditional Chinese and Simplified Chinese.

Why is there a difference?

The Chinese government promoted Simplified Chinese to make the written language easier to write in hopes of increasing literacy. Essentially, the character forms were created by decreasing the number of strokes and simplifying the forms of a proportion of traditional Chinese characters. A Taiwanese friend once told me that the English equivalent would be the transition of the word “important” to “impt”.